Stay at Home with Festival of Tibet 2020

By Tenzin Choegyal

Campaign Completed on
12-05-2020

{{ shares.facebook | thousands }}

Total shares

About the Festival of Tibet

The much-loved Brisbane Festival of Tibet has proudly presented the best of Tibet’s art, music and wisdom over the past 11 years, and featured many amazing artists, dignitaries, activists, filmmakers, teachers and community leaders.

Not only does the Festival entertain and inform, it also raises much-needed funds for the Tibetan Children’s Village in Dharamsala, India, a non-profit institution for the care and education of Tibetan children in exile. For the past 60 years TCV has played a major role in the lives of thousands of Tibetans, but the needs of the school are ongoing as they continue to meet the wellbeing of children and offer further education opportunities for older students.

But things have changed

Festival Director Tenzin Choegyal was very much looking forward to welcoming you all for the 12th Festival of Tibet and had planned another fabulous line-up of artists and special guests. But sadly, things have changed and, along with many other festivals and community celebrations, the Brisbane Festival of Tibet has been cancelled. So not only will our many supporters miss out on this year’s event, but the Tibetan Children’s Village stands to miss out on our donation of funds for 2020.

Of course, this is disappointing for everyone including Tenzin: “Like all other events around the globe, my plans and efforts for this year’s Festival of Tibet have disappeared. But we have the chance to practice much needed great compassion with awakened wisdom and make sure to care for the vulnerable members of our communities.”

So here's what we're doing

Tenzin sees this as an opportunity. Firstly to take time out and enjoy some beautiful time together with a special online Festival program. And secondly to continue raising those all-important funds for the Tibetan Children’s Village, especially since the children are even more vulnerable in these unpredictable times.

The heart of the Festival has always been the spirit, songs and stories of our wonderful presenters, artists and guests. So, starting on Saturday April 25th, the Festival of Tibet will host a series of online events including music, talks and videos.

Tenzin would like all our friends and supporters to kick back and enjoy live music, special guests, hand-picked movies and concert highlights from past festivals. And for those of you who are new to the Festival of Tibet, here’s your chance to catch up with some of the best the Festival has to offer.

All program details are below.

Please join us and help to support TCV

So this is an invitation to all our friends, old and new, to show your support for the Tibetan Children’s Village by joining us on Facebook for our first ever online Festival of Tibet and making a donation – big or small – to our TCV fund.

This is a ‘pay what you can’ ticket for the Festival, so it’s up to you how much you donate. We are aiming to raise at least $3,000 and 100% of the money raised will go directly to the Tibetan Children’s Village.

We look forward to seeing you online very soon!

Festival Program

Saturday 25th April Brisbane/Sydney/Melbourne 6am AEST

PRAYER FOR PEACE CONCERT with DEVA PREMAL AND MITEN

     Tokyo 5am JST  

     India 1:30am IST

     Moscow 11pm MSK

     Europe 10pm CEST  

   United Kingdom 9pm BST

   San Francisco 1.00pm PDT (24th

   New York 4pm EDT (24th)  


Sunday 26th April Brisbane/Sydney/Melbourne 7pm AEST

ROYAL CAFE film directed by first ever Tibetan female film maker TENZIN DASEL

     Tokyo 6pm JST  

     India 2:30pm IST

     Moscow 12pm MSK 

     Europe 11am CEST  

     United Kingdom 10am BST

     San Francisco 2am PDT  

     New York 5am EDT  

Tuesday 28th April Brisbane/Sydney/Melbourne 7pm AEST

MYSTICAL TIBET CONCERT with TENZIN CHOEGYAL and CAMERATA QUEENSLAND’S CHAMBER ORCHESTRA 

Preloved concert premiering online for the first time

     Tokyo 6pm JST  

     India 2:30pm IST

     Moscow 12pm MSK 

     Europe 11am CEST  

     United Kingdom 10am BST

     San Francisco 2am PDT  

     New York 5am EDT  

Wednesday 29th April Brisbane/Sydney/Melbourne 7pm AEST

BARDO - LIVING AND DYING WELL with TENZIN WANGYAL RINPOCHE

     Tokyo 6pm JST  

     India 2:30pm IST

     Moscow 12pm MSK 

     Europe 11am CEST  

     United Kingdom 10am BST

     San Francisco 2am PDT  

     New York 5am EDT  

Thursday 30th April Brisbane/Sydney/Melbourne 7pm AEST

MY SON TENZIN film directed by TASHI WANGCHUK featuring TSERING DORJEE BAWA

     Tokyo 6pm JST  

     India 2:30pm IST

     Moscow 12pm MSK 

     Europe 11am CEST  

     United Kingdom 10am BST

     San Francisco 2am PDT  

     New York 5am EDT  

 Friday 1st May Brisbane/Sydney/Melbourne 7pm AEST

RAGA SHAMBHALA CONCERT with TARO TERAHARA direct from Japan

     Tokyo 6pm JST  

     India 2:30pm IST

     Moscow 12pm MSK 

     Europe 11am CEST  

     United Kingdom 10am BST

     San Francisco 2am PDT  

     New York 5am EDT  

Saturday 2nd May Brisbane/Sydney/Melbourne 7pm AEST

POETS SPEAK FROM THEIR CAVES featuring prominent Tibetan poets and friends of Tibet

     Tokyo 6pm JST  

     India 2:30pm IST

     Moscow 12pm MSK 

     Europe 11am CEST  

     United Kingdom 10am BST

     San Francisco 2am PDT  

     New York 5am EDT  

Sunday 3rd May Brisbane/Sydney/Melbourne 7pm AEST

THOUSAND STORIES CONCERT featuring MICHAEL LEUNIG with TIBET2TIMBUK2 and FRIENDS

Preloved concert premiering online for the first time

     Tokyo 6pm JST  

     India 2:30pm IST

     Moscow 12pm MSK 

     Europe 11am CEST  

     United Kingdom 10am BST

     San Francisco 2am PDT  

     New York 5am EDT  

Monday 4th May Brisbane/Sydney/Melbourne 7pm AEST

THE SHADOW CIRCUS film directed by TENZING SONAM and RITU SARIN

     Tokyo 6pm JST  

     India 2:30pm IST

     Moscow 12pm MSK 

     Europe 11am CEST  

     United Kingdom 10am BST

     San Francisco 2am PDT  

     New York 5am EDT  



    {{ giver.full_name}}

    {{ giver.created_at }}
    {{ currencyConversion(giver.currency) }}

    ${{ currencyConversion(giver.currency) }}{{ giver.don_amount }}


    Offline donation

Team Members

Tenzin Choegyal

Loading...